Our network

Pine Bluff employees honored with Chancellor's Awards | Arts & Culture

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Pine Bluff employees honored with Chancellor's Awards
Pine Bluff employees honored with Chancellor's Awards

PINE BLUFF, Ark. – University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff employees representing the School of Arts and Sciences, and Facilities Management were recently honored with Chancellor’s Awards. They each received $1,000 prizes at the Chancellor’s Faculty and Staff Awards ceremony recently. Chancellor Dr. Lawrence B. Alexander presented the awards, which recognize individual performance in areas including teaching, research, customer service, public service and global engagement.

Dr. Angela Andrade, associate professor in social and behavioral sciences, and Dr. Sederick Rice, assistant professor of biology each received the Distinguished Teaching Award, which recognizes the highest quality of teaching or instruction. Criteria for the award include extensive knowledge and mastery of subject matter, innovation in course and curriculum design, the ability to inspire and mentor students through independent and creative thinking and work that enriches the scholarship of teaching and learning.

William Haliburton, skilled trades supervisor in the facilities management department, and Vileara Jordan, education program coordinator in the office of the Dean for the School of Arts and Sciences received the University Customer Service Award. This award recognizes those who exhibit the highest degree of customer service and consistently exceed the expectations set for their position. Criteria for the award include proven contributions toward effectiveness and efficiency in the workplace, development of cost-savings plans, work on special projects, consistent, positive interpersonal skills and the recognition of excellence in others.

Selections of the awardees were based on nominations submitted by UAPB faculty, staff, students and community partners. To determine the winners, a committee judged the nominees based on their contributions toward UAPB’s national prominence.