Our network

Photo Gallery | Arkansas will be represented at National Pen or Pencil Youth Summit

(Pine Bluff, AR) -  Rick Holman, Belair Middle School, Makiya Hines, Pine Bluff Lighthouse Charter School, and William L. Fells, III, Ridgeway Christian School are students participating in the Pen or Pencil initiative. These students were selected to represent the state of Arkansas during the "Take A Stand To Keep A Seat National Youth Mentoring Summit" and will compete against other students from Los Angeles and Antelope Valley California, Atlanta, Georgia, Danbury, Connecticut, High Point, North Carolina, Kansas City and Saint Louis, Missouri, Washington, DC, Chicago, Illinois, Florida, and Seattle, Washington. The summit is sponsored by the National Alliance of Faith and Justice, (NAFJ) in conjunction with the National Association of Blacks in Criminal Justice, (NABCJ) and will be held at the Hilton Orlando Hotel July 21, 2014 in Orlando, Florida. Pine Bluff students will arrive on July 19 and return July 21, 2014.  The Interested Citizens for Voter Registration, Inc., (ICVR), Arkansas’ Lead Pen or Pencil affiliate, conducts sessions with youngsters in the Pine Bluff and Dollarway School Districts as well as the Pine Bluff Lighthouse Charter School and the Ridgeway Christian School. 

 Recently students received certificates of participation from ICVR, Inc. during the award ceremonies held at the Lighthouse Charter School and Belair Middle School. 

Pine Bluff Lighthouse Charter School taken outside: 


Standing from Left to RightRev. Jesse Turner1. Jaylen Liddell2. Lajavian Cook3. Lamarcus Carter4. Kamiah Thornton5. Makiya Hines-warrior6. Olouni Jones7. Moeriah Crawford8. Joshua lacyFront Row Kneeling1. Keuntre Battles2. Markevius Livingston3. Nathaniel LacyNot pictured: William L. Fells, III and Mentor/Principal Sandra Smith-Jones Belair Middle School, taken insideFrom left to right
Rev. Jesse C. Turner1. Rick Holman
2 .Dauzhu Thomas
3. Zariaeah Blake
4. Kamryn Greer
5. Derrick Butler
6. Travis OwensStudents not pictured are: Anthony Booker, Jayhon Williams, Kimaniramon Linell, Alex Mayer, Tyran Womack and Principal Suzette Bloodman. Call (870) 536-7274 for more information or visit www.penorpencilmovement.com

Community Sponsors

Are you interested in promoting your business to local customers?